top of page

Summary and Suggestions

Purposes of practicum

Based on this program’s purposes, there are several purposes that can be seen clearly below.

  • To enable pre-service student teachers to develop their teaching skills and pedagogy.

  • To encourage the pre-service student teachers to practice their English skills.

  • To allow the pre-service student teachers to gain a broader regional and world view.

  • To expose future teachers to diverse teaching and learning situations and opportunities, and the value of flexibility.

So, based on that purposes there are several purposes that can be listed by my own self based on what I am thinking of.

  • Teacher can build their-self, develop their authentic teaching material and increase their teaching style and method. All the things that conducted by this program can practice and train teachers’ mindset to be a professional teacher in the future.

  • This program can train and increase teachers’ skills such as; speaking, listening, reading and writing. There are others skills also that can be gotten and learned by the teachers such as cooperative teaching and learning process, which the teachers can build and work with the others teachers and also the staff of the schools.

  • The last thing is the new experiences that the teacher get by joining this program.

  • Procedures of practicum

The procedures of this program divided into several stage below;

Stage 1. Orientation & Class Observation

Stage 2. Teaching Assistant

  1. Adequate teaching hours

  2. Monitoring & Evaluation by Mentor

Stage 3. Teaching Practice

  1. Working with classroom teacher

  2. Lesson plan consolidation

Stage 4. Reflection & Lesson Learned

  1. Reflection of ST’s performance in general & discussing the lesson learned

  2. Finalizing blog and report (if any required by Univ)

  3. Mentor helps to check the writing

The last thing also is culture exchange which is we perform our cultures and vice versa. the students of the university also perform their culture and the school also have sport that at the last week or 4th week when we have been in Thailand, Ayutthaya.

  • Outcomes of practicum

Based on this program’s purposes, there are several outcomes that can be seen and achieved by the pre-service students teachers below.

  • pre-service student teachers developed their teaching skills and pedagogy.

  • The pre-service student teachers encouraged their-self to practice their English skills.

  • The pre-service student teachers to gain a broader regional and world view.

  • The pre-service teachers expose to diverse teaching and learning situations and opportunities, and the value of flexibility.

So, based on that outcomes there are several outcomes that can be achieved by my own self based on what I am thinking of. such as; I can build my-self, develop my authentic teaching material and increase my teaching style and method. All the things that conducted by this program can practice and train my mindset to be a professional teacher in the future. This program can train and increase my skills such as; speaking, listening, reading and writing. There are others skills also that can be gotten and learned by me such as cooperative teaching and learning process, which I can build and work with the others teachers and also the staff of the schools. The last thing is the new experiences that I got by joining this program.

  • The challenges of practicum

The first, The big challenging that I got is time management, it is a little bit difficult for me to manage the time while teach the students. The second, is different language use, which is difficult to communicate with the students, even though, we use English, but it is not good as we use our own Native language to explain for the students.

  • Overall impression

For all the things that happen I thank for it, it leads and teach me how to solve, how to manage time, how to build good networking, how to interact with others, how to respect each other, how I can adapt my self, how I can be a good teacher. I want say thank you for all the people that help, support me. thanks also for the people that conducted this great program. SEA Teacher program is very useful to build and creates a good teacher and learner. I loved all the things that happen in my live during joined this program. it was great and teach me many things about life. I learned many things that actually can be seen by you in this website. I write anything, I shared many pictures, video and all things related to to this program.

  • Suggestions for future improvement

I have several suggestion about this program based on what I experience for future improvement, In my point of view, I suggest that, this program should be more involved others universities in Indonesia, so they can feel and join this program. The second is about the subjects that should be added so other students of different subjects can involve their-self. But I think, this program is great and amazing, that can lead and build a good and professional teacher in the future.


bottom of page